UNAPPROVED

Arizona Department of Homeland Security West Regional Advisory Council MEETING MINUTES

August 21, 2024

A regular meeting of the West Regional Advisory Council (WRAC) was convened on Wednesday, August 21, 2024. The meeting was held in-person with remote options and pursuant to A.R.S. §38-431.02, notice having been duly given (**Attachment A**). Present and absent were the following members of the West Regional Advisory Council:

Members Present:

Chairman, John Feddema, Operations Chief, Central Arizona Fire and Medical Authority Vice-Chairman, Robert Ticer, Chief, Prescott Valley Police Department William Ponce, Sheriff, La Paz County Sheriff's Office Leslie Horton, Director of Community Health Services, Yavapai County Public Health Peter Pilafas, Chief, Lake Havasu City Fire Department Jack Yeager, Chief, Kingman Fire Department Jon Brambila, Deputy Chief, Prescott Police Department Michael Browning, Emergency Management Coordinator, Mohave County Office of Emergency Management

Members Absent:

Andrew Shurtz, Captain, Arizona Department of Public Safety Chris Dowell, Interim Chief, Cottonwood Police Department

Arizona Department of Homeland Security (AZDOHS) Staff Members Present:

Kim Brooks, Strategic Planner Belinda Torres, Strategic Planner

Public Present:

Members of the public were present.

REGULAR BUSINESS

WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

Chair John Feddema called the meeting to order at 10:00 am. It was determined a quorum was present.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A motion was made by Jack Yeager and seconded by Robert Ticer to approve the May 7, 2024 meeting minutes as presented (Attachment B). The motion passed unanimously.

GENERAL BUSINESS

ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY (AZDOHS) UPDATE

Kim Brooks updated the West RAC on the following (Attachment C):

UNAPPROVED

- Quarterly Reports
- FFY 2024 Award Notification
- Property Control forms and Grant Close-Outs
- FFY 2025 Grant Application Process
- THIRA/SPR
- Upcoming Events

REGIONAL ADVISORY COUNCIL SELECTION OF FY 2024-2025 CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR

John Feddema was nominated by Robert Ticer to serve as Chair of the West RAC. The nomination was seconded by Jon Brambila. **The nomination passed unanimously.**

Robert Ticer was nominated by John John Feddema to serve in the position of Vice-Chair. The nomination was seconded by Jon Brambila. **The nomination passed unanimously.**

ACTIC/TLO UPDATE

Gabe Saenz with Phoenix Fire provided an update on the ACTIC/TLO initiative, discussing the restructuring of field operations guide within the TLO program. He also shared TLO's classification information and highlighted the training opportunities available for TLO classification in remote areas, as well as the ongoing efforts to broaden the scope of training.

STATE HOMELAND SECURITY GRANT PROGRAM (SHSGP) PROJECT SUCCESS STORIES

Jonah Van Tuyl, Technical Services Manager of the Central Arizona Fire and Medical Department provided an update on the Security Information and Event Management project awarded from the West RAC, which provides critical data from sources throughout the network and aggregates data to provide an understanding of what is taking place throughout the network (Attachment D). Sergeant Brandon Barkhurst of the Kingman Police Department shared information regarding the positive impact of the award of a bomb suit and the use of it throughout the region to support situations in which a bomb squad was needed (Attachment E). Support Services Commander Gareth Braxton-Johnson of the Cottonwood Police Department shared the successes of the License Plate Reader (LPR) project funded by SHSGP funding, providing seed money in 2020 for a beta test, serving as the first LPR in the area. This LPR initiative has expanded to other area agencies to provide regional coverage (Attachment F). Lieutenant Jason Small of the Prescott Police Department (PPD) shared the outcomes of the last few years of the PPD's TLO program and Technical Support Unit (Attachment G).

CALL TO THE PUBLIC

None

NEXT MEETING

The next meeting will be held in December 2024 remotely. Date to be determined.

CALL TO ADJOURN

Chair John Feddema requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. Jack Yeager **motioned** and Leslie Horton **seconded** to adjourn the meeting at 11:32 am. **The motion passed unanimously.**